Premio Europa per il Teatro Premio Europa per il Teatro Premio Europa per il Teatro Premio Europa per il Teatro

Born in 1944, Lev Dodin graduated from the Leningrad Theatre Institute in the class of the outstanding director and teacher Boris Zon. Lev Dodin's directing debut was in 1966, First Love" after Turgenev, followed over the years by dozens of productions at theatres in Leningrad, Moscow and abroad. Among them are Family Affair (Leningrad Theatre for Young People, Finnish National Theatre), Ignoramus and Rose Bernd (Leningrad Drama and Comedy Theatre), The Meek One (BDT, MkHAT), The Golovlev Family (MkHAT), the operas Electra at the Salzburg Festival in collaboration with Claudio Abbado, Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk and Othello in Florence, Pique Dame in Amsterdam, Florence and Paris with Semyon Bychkov, Mazeppa at La Scala with Mstislav Rostropovich and Demons at Théâtre du Chatelet with Valery Gergiev. His collaboration with the Maly Drama Theatre began in 1975, with Robbers by Capek. The production of Abramov’s  House in 1980 defined the artistic destiny of Lev Dodin and the Maly Drama Theatre. Since 1983 Dodin has been the Artistic Director of the theatre, and since 2002 General Manager. During these years, many productions have entered the repertoire: Brothers and Sisters, Stars in the Morning Sky, Gaudeamus, The Possessed, Lord of the Flies, Claustrophobia, Cherry Orchard, Chevengur, Platonov, King Lear, Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Life and Fate, Three Sisters and others. In 1992 Lev Dodin and his theatre joined the Union of Theatres of Europe. In 1998 the Maly Drama Theatre received the status of Theatre of Europe, third after the Odeon in Paris and the Piccolo in Milan. Dodin has taught acting and directing since 1967; he has trained generations of actors and directors, leading master classes in the UK, France, Japan and the US. At present the company of MDT consists mostly of his students. Lev Dodin and his performances have won many national and international awards including State Prizes of Russia and the Soviet Union, "Triumph" and "Golden Mask" prizes, Laurence Olivier Awards, Europe Theatre Prize (2000) and the President of Russia Prize (2001).